Sonda - Richard Neylon (digital download)

Screen Shot 2017-09-10 at 13.43.19.png
Copy of Richard Neylon6.jpg
Screen Shot 2017-09-10 at 13.43.19.png
Copy of Richard Neylon6.jpg

Sonda - Richard Neylon (digital download)


The debut solo album "Sonda" by Richard Neylon - for download. Upon purchase, you will be sent an email with a link to download the album containing the 12 mp3 tracks.

Add To Cart

The debut solo album from Richard Neylon. The album showcases Richard playing the uilleann pipes, flute, whistles, saxophone, bodhrán and drums. The brand new album comprises of 12 tracks including traditional tunes and newly composed music, featuring fantastic Irish musicians including; Conal Early, Fiachra Hayes, Stephen Doherty and James Frawley.

Sonda is the Irish/Gaelic word for sonant or sonorous; meaning a voiced sound. This word has a special meaning when used to describe the uilleann pipes, where the melody is played on the chanter. Chanter comes from the Latin word cantātōr, meaning to sing.

Sonda (Gaeilge): Sonant, sonorous, a voiced sound

Sonda, the debut album from All-Ireland Champion uilleann piper Richard Neylon, features 12 tracks:

1 - Moving Beauty (4.24)
2 - Catalina (4.09)
3 - The Flood (5.23)
4 - Lucy & Jimmy (5.18)
5 - B Jigs (4.53)
6 - The Mystery (4.20)
7 - An Spéic Seoigheach (6.30) 
8 - Sonda (5.27)
9 - Independence (3.35)
10 - Holy Land (3.33)
11 - Máire's First Slip (4.04) 
12 - Cumha Mhíchíl Bhreathnaigh (3.22)


Musicians / Na Ceoltóirí:

Richard Neylon - Uilleann pipes, flute, whistles, saxophone, bodhrán, drums
Conal Early - guitar, piano, keyboards, bouzouki
Fiachra Hayes - fiddle
Stephen Doherty - accordion
James Frawley - concertina

Credits / Creidiúintí:

Recorded by Richard Neylon @ Dúléim Studios, Moycullen.
Additional recording by Conal Early @ Cloughcorr Studios, Dublin.
Additional recording by Stephen Doherty @ Currinara Studios, Foxford.
Mixed and Mastered by Billy Farrell @ Deadeye Productions.
Artwork - Richard Neylon. Photography - Max Malloy

All tracks arranged by Richard Neylon and Conal Early (except track 5, 7 and 12 - Richard only).
All tracks traditional except "Sonda"© written by Richard Neylon and "Catalina Waltz"© M.Lennon/J.Hurley.

1 - Moving Beauty
Three reels I picked up over the years: An Buailteoir Aerach / Moving Decency / The Beauty Spot.
2 - Catalina
Maurice Lennon wrote this waltz with John Hurley in the late eighties and recorded it with Stockon’s Wing. Maurice kindly gave me his blessing to record this tune and I hope I have done it justice.
3 - The Flood
The first reel in a set of three I picked up from the playing of Robbie Hannan. He calls it the Flood on the Holm. I bought a copy of Robbie’s solo album when I began learning the pipes and I listened to the album over and over on my trusty discman. This tune was my favourite. I follow it up with another favourite of mine “The Hollybush” taught to me by a former teacher and Galway piper Richard Murray. I finish the set with “The Cameronian”.
4 - Lucy & Jimmy
The Kilnamona barndance opens this set, followed by Lucy Farrs Barndance and Jimmy Ward’s Jig. Due to the novelty of modern recording, I can play the saxophone, uilleann pipes and whistle all at once. 
5 - B Jigs
Two of my favourite jigs to play on the pipes; “King of the Pipers” and “The Maid at the Spinning Wheel”. I had initially planned to record these on my concert pitch set, but after receiving a set pitched in B from Andreas Rogge, I just couldn’t help myself.
6 - The Mystery
I learned this first tune “The Mystery Reel” after playing with Stephen Doherty in a music and dance show in Derry and Belfast. Followed by “The Merry Sisters of Fate” and finishing with “Kiss the Maid behind the Barrell”.
7 - An Spéic Seoigheach
The title of this old Irish air is also known as Joyce’s tune or The Cry of the Joyce. It was collected by Edward Bunting in the 1790s.
8 - Sonda
I composed the first jig when I was living in Stoneybatter in Dublin. The walls of the house were paper thin so it was always tricky trying not to wake the neighbours. I often settled for playing the low whistle instead of the pipes and this tune formed as a result. The second jig “Only for Barney” is one I learned from the playing of the accordion player James Keane. The final jig in the set is “Fr. O’Flynns”.

9 - Independence
Two hornpipes - The Golden Eagle and The Independence.
10 - Holy Land
I know this first tune as Julia Clifford’s Jig, although as with many Irish tunes it has a multitude of other names. The second tune is “The Holy Land reel” and we finish off with “The Honeymoon Reel”.
11 - Máire's First Slip
A favourite pipering slip jig to begin “Máire Rua”. The second tune “Ryan’s” is one I learnt from the playing of the Leitrim flute player Dave Sheridan. The last tune is called “The First Slip”.
12 - Cumha Mhíchíl Bhreathnaigh
Dara Folan brought this closing piece to my attention. It was written by Dr. Tomás MacDomhnaill, a prominent Gealic Leaguer and traditional musician. He composed the lamentation at the request of his dying friend, Mícheál Breathnach, an eminent Gaelic revivalist, writer, educationalist and activist. Breathnach died prematurely in 1908, to the immense grief of the Irish language movement. He had the eerie and unusual experience of hearing his own death lament. Upon hearing the piece written for him, Breathnach commented that it was undoubtedly sad and sorrowful, as he had requested. There were a number of pipers who played at the large funeral, which took place in Galway, notably Éamonn Ceannt. Mícheál Breathnach is buried in Knock Cemetery, Inverin.